Simple genuine pride

Image

Where the clover grows wild (goodies), 2007, oil on canvas, 15″ x 15″ by Darlene Cole

If there were one thing I’d want to change about my childhood, I couldn’t think of any. Not because I was raised in a castle or extravagance but because, while I was growing up, my life was my castle. 

My little life of a castle holds memories of a father who thought me how to skate, to tie my shoes, and bought me a pretty spring dress with shoes every Easter. I remember every time I would first put on that dress and the Mary Janes, I would hurry on out to the sun and its golden fields – my only true spectators – being careful of course to remain “proper”.

Now that was true genuine pride. Wouldn’t it be nice if life were always that simple?

This post was inspired by the Daily post.

5 thoughts on “Simple genuine pride

  1. Pingback: Daily Prompt – Proud – Poem / Poetry – A Double Edged Sword | toofulltowrite (I've started so I'll finish)

  2. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Proud … Thank you kind Sir | Fasting, Food and other musings by determined34

Talk to the sheep

